16 States File Suit Against Trump Administration Over Emergency Declaration

Over a dozen states file suit against top officials in the White House, including President Trump, following the emergency declaration announced late last week.

A total of 16 states, including California, filed the lawsuit Monday.

The California Attorney General Xavier Becerra issued a statement declaring the move, shortly after he made remarks saying the lawsuit was ‘imminent.’

According to Becerra, the coalition is suing Trump administration officials to “stop him [President Trump] from unilaterally robbing taxpayer funds.”

The other states include Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Virginia, and Michigan.

Becerra’s remarks come just days after President Trump declared a national emergency in an effort to fully fund the southern border wall.  

President Trump will now have access to around $8 billion for border wall construction.

The White House did not immediately respond to the filing.  

Related Articles

Back to top button