White House

Pres. Trump Approves Wisconsin Disaster Declaration

President Trump approved a disaster declaration for the state of Wisconsin on Tuesday approving federal aid for the severe storms which struck in July.

White House Press Release, 8/27/19

President Donald J. Trump declared that a major disaster exists in the State of Wisconsin and ordered Federal assistance to supplement State, tribal, and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding from July 18 to July 20, 2019.

Federal funding is available to State, tribal, and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by severe storms, straight-line winds, and tornadoes in the counties of Barron, Clark, Forest, La Crosse, Langlade, Menominee, Monroe, Oconto, Oneida, Outagamie, Polk, Portage, Rusk, Shawano, Vernon, Waupaca, and Wood and the Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin and the St. Croix Chippewa Indians of Wisconsin.
Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.
Pete Gaynor, Acting Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Steven W. Johnson as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected areas. 

Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.


Related Articles

Back to top button